Three Flames Garner League Honors

MaryKatie Imrie earned all-Horizon League honors.
MaryKatie Imrie earned all-Horizon League honors.

Nov. 12, 2012

INDIANAPOLIS – Senior hitters Janise Dismuke and Aubrey Sniegowski and junior setter MaryKate Imrie were named to the all-Horizon League team, it was announced by the conference office Monday afternoon. The trio earns the honor after leading the UIC team to a 10-4 conference record and a No. 2 seed in the Horizon League Championship.

In 113 sets of play during the 2012 regular season, Dismuke collected a .336 hitting percentage – the highest on the team - with 289 kills (2.56 per set) and 119 total blocks. She ranks second in the Horizon League with the .336 clip. She is fifth overall in blocks at 1.05 per set, and holds three of the top-10 hitting percentage numbers in the League, include the top two. Atop the list is .812 from a 3-0 victory over Eastern Illinois on Oct. 3, followed by .762 from a win over Wright State on Sept. 22.

Dismuke was awarded as the Horizon League Offensive Player of the Week on Oct. 9 following the .812 clip and posting .400 and .467 hitting percentages over Green Bay and Milwaukee, respectively. Dismuke managed to hit at .400-or higher for five consecutive matches (Oct. 3-19).

Sniegowski has compiled a .267 hitting percentage with 325 kills and 75 total blocks during 114 sets of competition on the 2012 season. In Horizon League matches, she is hitting at .279 and has captured 168 kills (3.05 per set). She collected career-high numbers Oct. 6 against Milwaukee. In the victory over the Panthers, Sniegowski captured 19 kills and seven block assists.

Imrie leads the Horizon League in assists with 114 (11.05 per set), and holds the most assists in a single match with 61 (versus Milwaukee on Oct. 6). She also holds the second-most double-double performances with 17, just one behind Milwaukee’s Julie Kolinske, who has 18. She captured four consecutive double-double performances from Oct. 26 through Nov. 3.



All-Horizon League Team

Kara Koch, Cleveland State

Marie Frease, Cleveland State

Amanda Medvetz, Cleveland State

Janise Dismuke, UIC

Aubrey Sniegowski, UIC

MaryKate Imrie, UIC

Morgan Beil, Valparaiso

Taylor Root, Valparaiso

Ellen Vanden Berg, Valparaiso

Anna Eytchison, Loyola

Brittany Groth, Green Bay

Carmen Leitermann, Green Bay

Missy Hundelt, Youngstown State

Rachel Neuberger, Milwaukee

All-Newcomer Team

Dayna Roberts, Cleveland State

Brittany Brown, Loyola

Anna Eytchison, Loyola

Stephanie Kinane, Loyola

Kathleen Vogel, Loyola

Kelsey Berrington, Valparaiso

Marisa Aiello, Wright State

Player of the Year: Kara Koch, Cleveland State

Defensive Player of the Year: Taylor Root, Valparaiso

Newcomer of the Year: Anna Eytchison, Loyola

Coach of the Year: Chuck Voss, Cleveland State