Cross Country Concludes Competition at Horizon League Championship

Women's Athlete of the Year, Tess Ehrhardt
Women's Athlete of the Year, Tess Ehrhardt

Nov. 2, 2013

Men's Results Get Acrobat Reader

Women's Results Get Acrobat Reader

YOUNGSTOWN, OHIO- The UIC cross country teams concluded competition at the 2013 Horizon League Championship Saturday afternoon.  The women’s team secured second place against nine teams, and the men’s squad took home sixth place.  Junior Tess Ehrhardt highlighted UIC’s performance as she took home top honors in the women’s race and was crowned Women’s Athlete of the Year.  Junior Rebecca Zaiter joined Ehrhardt on the All-League first team. 

“Tess is the first conference champ in XC we’ve ever had, and she won because despite her frail exterior she’s a fierce tiger inside,” said Head Coach Jim Knoedel.  “Our women’s team raced so well and I was very proud of their finish.”

Ehrhardt who finished first among 74 runners, guided the women’s team in the 5K with a time of 17:47.63, beating her nearest opponent by nearly 15 seconds.  The Flames rounded out competition with four runners in the top-20 including, Rebecca Zaiter (18:47.56), Lauren Lindholm (19:16.85), Jaime Johnson (19:26.46) and Emma Preston (19:30.72). 

“Gunnar was our top runner and I was very pleased with his effort,” said Knoedel. 

Junior Gunner Sterne piloted the men’s team in the 8K clocking in at 26:49.74, placing 21st.  Close behind were Freshman Kyle Hauser (27:01.13), Angelos Karkalis (27:03.10) and Neel Patel (27:07.36) who finished in 29th, 30th and 31st place, respectively.  Also contributing was senior Arash Darbandi who placed within the top-50 runners with a time of 27:54.18.

The men’s and women’s squads continue competition at the NCAA Midwest Regional Nov.15 in Ames, Iowa. 

Below is a list of the All-Horizon League Teams and Individual Awards

Men’s Athlete of the Year:

Eric Rupe, Youngstown State

Women’s Athlete of the Year:

Tess Ehrhardt, UIC

Men’s Coach of the Year:

Guy Murray, Detroit

Women’s Coach of the Year:

Brian Gorby, Youngstown State

Men’s Freshman of the Year:  

Jacbob Bowman, Oakland

Women’s Freshman of the Year:

McKinse Klim, Youngstown   

Women’s All-League First Team

1 Tess Ehrhardt           Illinois-Chicago        (17:47.63)     

2 Anna Pompeo             Youngstown St.         (18:02.01)       

3 Louisa Coppola          Detroit Mercy           (18:14.35)      

4 Samantha Hamilton       Youngstown St.          (18:20.86)       

5 McKinsie Klim           Youngstown St.          (18:39.09)       

6 Rebecca Zaiter          Illinois-Chicago        (18:47.56)       

7 Jessica Richardson      Valparaiso              (18:49.19)       

8 Allison Anich           Wis.-Milwaukee          (18:55.07)       

Women’s All-League Second Team:

8 Allison Anich Milwaukee (18:55.07)

9 Karli Keur Oakland (19:00.84)

10 Sammy Mondry Oakland (19:03.01)

11 Sarah Mauel Green Bay (19:04.51)

12 Brittany Stockmaste Youngstown State (19:12.21)

13 Elizabeth Rogenski Youngstown State (19:14.93)

14 Vince Paikowski Milwaukee (26:28.90)

Men’s All-League First Team

1 Eric Rupe Youngstown St. (25:41.24)

2 Dan Shafer Wright State (25:50.51)

3 Martin Nelkie Detroit (25:54.76)

4 Ryan Hofsess Detroit (26:03.65)

5 Austin McLean Youngstown State (26:04.61)

6 Matt Peters Wright State (26:14.51)

7 George Holman Detroit (26:14.96)

Men’s All-League Second Team

8 Austin Wigent Detroit (26:18.86)

9 Michael Cox Oakland (26:20.43)

10 Jacob Bowman Oakland (26:22.17)

11 Derek Gielarowski Detroit (26:23.13)

12 Nick Gliha Youngstown State (26:24.39)

13 Gerrit Bruni Milwaukee (26:28.19)

14 Vince Paikowski Milwaukee (26:28.90)