Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Cross Country Shines at the 2012 Horizon League Championships

    Sophomore Tess Ehrardt crossed the finish line sixth at the 2012 Horizon League Championships.
    Sophomore Tess Ehrardt crossed the finish line sixth at the 2012 Horizon League Championships.
    Women's Track Home

    Flames Sweep Horizon League Runner of the Week Awards

    Cross Country Concludes Action at College of DuPage Invitational

    Cross Country to Compete at College of DuPage Invitational

    UIC Flames Facebook

    UIC Flames Twitter


    Oct. 27, 2012

    Men's Results Get Acrobat Reader

    Women's Results Get Acrobat Reader

    KENOSHA, Wis. – The UIC men’s and women’s cross country teams had its best Horizon League Championships outing in program history on Saturday as both sides took home runner-up honors at the Wayne E. Dannehl National Cross Course in Kenosha, Wis.  It was the women’s highest all-time finish at the meet and just the second ever occurrence for the men (2006).  Six total Flames were named to the All-League first and second teams and freshman Pat Niyork garnered Male Newcomer of the Year accolades.

    “Our day got off to a good start,” said head coach Jim Knoedel.  “The women had their best finish ever and the men closed with a matching effort.  To win Newcomer of the Year was a well-deserved award for a runner that will challenge the league’s best down the road.  Niyork ran with the lead group the whole way and demonstrated what a great talent he is.”

    Out front for the women was sophomore Tess Ehrhardt who placed sixth overall with a time of 18:20, securing her position on the All-League first team.  Three Flames were represented on the second team including freshman Emma Preston, sophomore Rebecca Zaiter and freshman Lauren Lindholm.  Preston and Zaiter finished ninth and 10th with times of 18:34 and 18:41, respectively.  Lindholm trailed Zaiter by three seconds to post a result of 18:44, finishing 12th.  Junior Jamie Johnson just missed the top-14 cut with a 16th-place showing and a time of 18:52.

    “Tess Ehrhardt has shown steady improvement week-to-week, but nonetheless I was amazed by her results,” said Knoedel.

    Junior Angelos Karkalis piloted the men’s squad as he crossed the line sixth overall in a time of 25:27, earning a spot on the first-team All-Horizon League.  Niyork followed Karkalis by two seconds in 25:27 to place seventh and also claim a first-team All-Conference selection.  Freshman Marcus Garcia took home second-team laurels with an 11th-place finish and a time of 25:45.  Senior Matt Zaluckyj (16th) and freshman Billy Clink (20th) rounded out UIC’s top-20 performances with results of 26:04 and 26:08, respectively.

    Below is a list of the All-Horizon League Teams and Individual Awards:

    Men’s Coach of the Year:

    Randy Hasenbank, Loyola

    Men’s Newcomer of the Year:

    Pat Niyork, UIC

    Men’s First Team All-Horizon League:
    Sam Penzenstadler - So., Loyola (24:59)
    Jake Autio - Jr., Loyola (25:04)
    Jake Reilly - Sr., Milwaukee (25:11)
    Oscar Aguinaga - Jr., Loyola (25:19)
    Alex Thornburg - Jr., Loyola (25:22)
    Angelos Karkalis - Jr., UIC (25:27)
    Pat Niyork - Fr., UIC (25:29)

    Men’s Second Team All-Horizon League
    Dan Shafer - Jr., Wright State (25:36)
    Martin Nelkie - Jr., Detroit (25:38)
    Jared Skrabacz - So., Loyola   (25:45)
    Marcus Garcia - Fr., UIC (25:45)
    Jason Bruns - Sr., Wright State (25:53)
    Nick Miller - Fr., Loyola (25:53)
    Bob Radlich - Sr., Detroit (25:55)

    Women’s Coach of the Year

    Randy Hasenbank, Loyola

    Women’s Newcomer of the Year

    Sydney Stuenkel, Loyola

    Women’s First Team All-Horizon League
    Gina Valgoi - Sr., Loyola (17:05)
    Alyvia Clark - Jr., Loyola (18:03)
    Sydney Stuenkel - Fr., Loyola (18:14)
    Jessica Richardson - So., Valparaiso (18:18)
    Louisa Coppola - Jr., Detroit (18:18)
    Tess Ehrhardt - So., UIC (18:20)
    Megan Janezic - Jr., Loyola (18:21)

    Women’s Second Team All-Horizon League
    Brittany Stockmaster - So., Youngstown State (18:33)
    Emma Preston - Fr., UIC (18:34)
    Rebecca Zaiter - So., UIC (18:41)
    Monica Ciarniello - Jr., Youngstown State (18:42)
    Lauren Lindholm - Fr., UIC (18:44)
    Samantha Woller - Jr., Milwaukee (18:49)
    Katey Heney - So., Youngstown State (18:50)