Trio of Flames Named to All-League Second Team

Jana Knoppe has gone 29-2 in singles during her career against Horizon League foes.
Jana Knoppe has gone 29-2 in singles during her career against Horizon League foes.

April 24, 2014

INDIANAPOLIS – UIC seniors Jana Knoppe, Mariana Palacios and Kathryn Sharples were named to the All-League Second Team Thursday evening at the Horizon League Tennis Awards Banquet, held at Weber’s Restaurant and Boutique Hotel in Ann Arbor, Mich.

Knoppe picks up her first career All-League honor after going 18-2 in singles with a 7-1 record against conference foes. A HL Player of the Week selection on Feb. 4, Knoppe went 6-1 at No. 3, 10-1 at No. 4 and a perfect 2-0 at No. 5, and road a 15-match win streak during the season. She also tallied a 10-7 mark in doubles, all at No. 2, after going 4-1 in conference play.

Palacios garners her second career All-League nod after being named to the First Team last season. Palacios carried a 6-2 record in the Horizon League during singles this season with eight wins overall while competing at No. 1 (1-9) and No. 2 (7-2). In doubles, Palacios collected seven wins at No. 1, with a 5-2 conference mark.

Sharples earns her first All-League accolade following a dual season singles record of 7-11, 3-3 HL. Sharples rotated between the top three positions and was named the Horizon League Player of the Week on March 31 for the first time in her career. Sharples boasted 10 wins in doubles and went 4-1 at No. 1 against conference opponents.

Knoppe, Palacios and Sharples join the Flames on Friday as they set out to capture their 18th-straight conference title in an opening-round matchup against No. 5 Detroit at 10 a.m. CT at the University of Michigan Varsity Tennis Center.

2014 Women’s Tennis Awards
Player of the Year
   Lauren Golick, Cleveland State
Freshman of the Year
   Lauren Golick, Cleveland State
Coach of the Year
   Brian Etzkin, Cleveland State
Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award
   Chelsea Girgash, Wright State
Women’s All-League Teams
First Team
   Lauren Golick, Cleveland State
   Alex Bush, Cleveland State
   Diana Tokar, Milwaukee
   Margarita Sadovnikova, Youngstown State
   Marta Burak, Youngstown State
   Dominika Lackova, Youngstown State
Second Team
   Kara Sherwood, Cleveland State
   Viktoria Laskutova, Detroit
   Kathryn Sharples, UIC
   Mariana Palacios, UIC
   Jana Knoppe, UIC
   Linsey Verstrepen, Wright State