Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Women's Tennis Downed By #18 Arizona State, 4-0, In NCAA Play



    Women's Tennis Home

    Top Flames Moment: Jana Knoppe Ties UIC Career Singles Victories Record

    UIC Touts 10 Spring Academic All-Horizon League Honorees

    Top Flames Moment: Women's Tennis Defeat's Oakland, 6-1

    Flames Tennis Facility

    UIC Flames Facebook

    UIC Flames Twitter


    May 10, 2003

    Tempe, Ariz. - The UIC women's tennis team closed out a fantastic season on Saturday afternoon in the desert of Arizona, as the Flames were downed by #18 Arizona State, 4-0, in the first round of the NCAA Tournament at the Whiteman Tennis Center in Tempe.

    Arizona State grabbed the doubles point in a hurry with Mhairi Brown and Cindy Sureephong beating Ayca Gumuscu and Molly Smith, 8-3. In the No.3 match, the team of Joslynn Burkett and Megan Yeats defeated UIC's Athanasia Giannoulopoulou and Zvjezdana Malesevic, 8-2.

    In singles play it was more of the same for the Sun Devils as the nation's seventh-ranked player Adria Engel downed UIC's Nicole Derouin in the No.1 singles match, 6-0, 6-1. Dora Krstulovic beat Gumuscu, 7-5, 6-0, at No.2 singles, while ASU added the final victory in the fourth slot, with Sureephong defeating Malesevic, 6-1, 6-1.

    The Flames finish the ledger at 17-7 and as Horizon League Champions for the seventh consecutive season.

    Fresno State defeated San Diego State in the other first round match-up, which sets up a second round affair between ASU and the Bulldogs on Sunday.



    1. #7 Adria Engel (ASU) def. Nicole Derouin (UIC), 6-0, 6-1

    2. #56 Dora Krstulovic (ASU) def. Ayca Gumuscu (UIC), 7-5, 6-0

    3. Mhairi Brown (ASU) vs. Corey Steven (UIC) DNF (Brown leading 6-3, 2-1)

    4. Cindy Sureephong (ASU) def. Zvjezdana Malesevic (UIC), 6-1, 6-1



    5. Lauren Colalillo (ASU) vs. Molly Smith (UIC) DNF (Colalillo leading 7-5, 2-1)

    6. Joslynn Burkett (ASU) vs. Athanasia Giannoulopoulou (UIC) DNF (Burkett Leading 4-6, 6-1, 3-0)


    1. Colalillo/Engel (ASU) vs. Derouin (UIC), DNF (ASU leading 5-3)

    2. Brown/Sureephong (ASU) def. Gumuscu/Smith (UIC), 8-3

    3. Burkett/Yeats (ASU) def. Giannoulopoulou/Malesevic (UIC), 8-2