Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Women's Tennis Wins Seventh Consecutive Horizon League Crown



    Women's Tennis Home

    Women's Tennis Releases 2014-15 Schedule Ahead of Fall Campaign

    Top Flames Moment: Jana Knoppe Ties UIC Career Singles Victories Record

    UIC Touts 10 Spring Academic All-Horizon League Honorees

    Flames Tennis Facility

    UIC Flames Facebook

    UIC Flames Twitter


    April 27, 2003

    Indianapolis, Ind. - The Bulldogs took a quick bite out of the UIC women's tennis team, but the Flames retaliated with a helping of convincing singles wins to take their seventh consecutive Horizon League crown and advance to their fifth-straight NCAA Tournament in the league tournament finals on Sunday.

    The seven-straight matches Notre Dame who won seven in the late '80s and early '90s.

    Butler came out strong taking the doubles point, which was the first point given up by the Flames to a league school in over two years,

    But the Flames stormed back, as Ayca Gumuscu defeated Alaina Griffin 6-0, 6-0 at No.2 singles.

    Molly Smith then defeated Lisa Valle, 6-0, 6-0, in the No.5 hole followed by Zorica Malesevic's win over Annie Gantz at No. 6 singles, 6-2, 6-3.

    Zvjezdana Malesevic clinched the title for the Flames in the fourth slot, beating Tayo Bailey in a heated match, 7-6 (2), 6-2.

    The Flames now await their fate for the NCAA Tournament.