Men's Swimming & Diving Places Third, Women's Team Finishes Fourth At Horizon League Championships

Jessica Darud led the way on Saturday with a second-place finish in the 200 backstroke.
Jessica Darud led the way on Saturday with a second-place finish in the 200 backstroke.

Feb. 27, 2005

Complete Results

Brown Deer, Wis.- The University of Illinois at Chicago swimming and diving teams put an exclamation point on their 2004-05 season on Saturday, as the men's team placed third for their best finish in over a decade, while the women's squad came close to a top-three finish in a solid fourth.

The men's team was just 62 points behind a tough second-place Cleveland State team. UIC's top-three finish gave them their best final league ranking since the 1994 season.

UIC's move to a top-three finish on the men's side earned UIC head coach Paul Moniak Horizon League Men's Swimming Coach of the Year honors. It marked the second time in his four-year tenure with the Flames that Moniak won the award for men's swimming coaching excellence and the third time he has been named a league Coach of the Year on either side.

More school records fell on the final day for the Flames. Junior LeRoy Stevens broke his own 100-yard freestyle record for the second time in less than eight hours as the speedy sprint-free specialist swam a 44.87. Stevens took third in the event, followed by Blake Booher in third with a career 45.19, the third-best all-time mark in school history.

Both the men's and women's 400 freestyle relay records fell, as Kelly Hyatt, Aisha Williams, Emily Biancalana and Colleen Dougherty replaced the old school-best of 3:34.90 with a 3:32.08, while Stevens, Booher, Athanasios Lamprou and Bill Hare turned in a second-place time of 3:00.77, beaten only by Wright State's Horizon League record, to establish a new UIC best time.



Jessica Darud capped off her career meet with a second-place finish in the 200 backstroke, setting a career-best 2:05.33.

Freshman Dan Hare etched his name in the UIC record book with a new school-best time of 1:53.49 in the 200 backstroke.

Sophomore Kelly Hyatt led the way with a fourth-place finish in the 100 free for the women.

Senior Stefan Staev capped off his career with a third-place finish in the 200 breaststroke, putting a lid on his finest meet as a Flame.

Senior Vanessa Segovia also closed out her career with the team's leading time in the 200 butterfly, going a 2:13.69 in the finals.

Kris Simos swam a solid 1:52.93 in the 200 fly for the men.

Mark Pappalardo led the team on the diving side with a third-place finish in the men's three-meter finals.

Wright State successfully defended their men's title, while UW-Green Bay captured the women's championship.

1. Wright State 852
2. Cleveland State 688
3. UIC 626
4. UW-Green Bay 560.5
5. UW-Milwaukee 470.5
6. Butler 122

WOMEN'S FINAL TEAM STANDINGS 1. UW-Green Bay 817 2. Wright State 735 3. UW-Milwaukee 700 4. UIC 483 5. Cleveland State 311 6. Youngstown State 294 7. Butler 161

HORIZON LEAGUE 2005 HONORS Athlete of the Year (M/W) -- Pieter Pelser, CSU/Samantha Jones, CSU Swimming Coach of the Year (M/W) -- Paul Moniak, UIC/Jim Merner, UWGB Dive Coach of the Year (M/W) -- Rich Karban, CSU/Todd Hill, UWM Diver of the Meet (M/W) -- Thatcher Carr, CSU/Erin Blemberg, UWM Swimmer of the Meet (M/W) -- Scott Lang, WSU/Lindsay Caldwell, UWM Newcomer of the Year (M/W) -- Scott Lang, WSU/Jessica Weidert, UWGB