Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Softball Leads Horizon League With Season Accolades

    Head coach Michelle Venturella named the Coach of the Year for the second time in five seasons.
    Head coach Michelle Venturella named the Coach of the Year for the second time in five seasons.
    Softball Home

    Softball Records 3-0 Shutout Victory against Kirkwood CC

    Softball Opens Fall Season with Wins over Loyola

    Softball Welcomes Back Alumni for Annual Event


    Flames Field

    UIC Flames Facebook

    UIC Flames Twitter


    May 7, 2013

    CHICAGO - Devin Miller was named the Horizon League Pitcher of the Year, while head coach Michelle Venturella was selected as the Coach of the Year. The Flames also placed five members on the all-Horizon League First Team, one on the Second Team and one to the all-Newcomer Team.

    It was the second time that Venturella has been selected as the Horizon League Coach of the Year. She also earned the honor in 2009, and has now led the team to a first-place finish in the Horizon League and the honor of hosting the Horizon League Championship.

    Junior Natalie Hernandez, seniors Kara Komp, Melissa Preish and Devin Miller, along with freshman designated player Laura Swan were named to the all-Horizon League First Team. Senior Coryn Schmit earned Second Team honors, while Swan was also named to the all-Newcomer Team.

    Among the other League award winners are Cleveland State's Dara Toman, who was selected as the Player of the Year with teammate Erica McNew being named the Newcomer of the Year. Toman, McNew, Loyola's Lauren Moore, Brooke Andresen and Brittany Gardner, Valparaiso's Joylyn Ichiyama, Sara Cupp (Detroit) were also selected to the Horizon League First Team.

    Joining Schmit on the Second Team is Samantha Snodgrass (Youngstown State), Jessica Hrncar (Green Bay), Valparaiso's Janelle Bouchard, Brittany Duncan, Kaitlyn Ranieri and Taylor Weissenhofer, Cynthia Woodward (Cleveland State), Youngstown State's Vicky Rumph and Casey Crozier, Wright State's Kaitlyn Kite and Krystian DeWitt and Brie Pasquale of Loyola.



    The Horizon League Tournament begins Wednesday as No. 4 Cleveland State contends fifth-seeded Wright State at 11:00 a.m. (CT) at Flames Field.

    2013 Softball Awards

    Player of the Year

         Dara Toman, Cleveland State         

    Newcomer of the Year

         Erica McNew, Cleveland State        

    Pitcher of the Year

         Devin Miller, UIC

    Coach of the Year

         Michelle Venturella, UIC   

    All-League First Team

         Dara Toman, Cleveland State

         Natalie Hernandez, UIC

         Erica McNew, Cleveland State

         Lauren Moore, Loyola

         Joylyn Ichiyama, Valparaiso

         Kara Komp, UIC

         Sara Cupp, Detroit

         Brooke Andresen, Loyola

         Melissa Preish, UIC

         Laura Swan, UIC (Designated Player)

         Devin Miller, UIC (Pitcher)

         Brittany Gardner, Loyola (Pitcher)

    Second Team

         Coryn Schmit, UIC

         Samantha Snodgrass, Youngstown State

         Jessica Hrncar, Green Bay

         Janelle Bouchard, Valparaiso

         Cynthia Woodward, Cleveland State

         Brittany Duncan, Valparaiso

         Kaitlyn Ranieri, Valparaiso

         Brie Pasquale, Loyola

         Vicky Rumph, Youngstown State

         Kaitlyn Kite, Wright State (DP)

         Taylor Weissenhofer, Valparaiso (P)

         Krystian DeWitt, Wright State (P)

         Casey Crozier, Youngstown State (P)

    All-Newcomer Team

         Erica McNew, Cleveland State

         Laura Swan, UIC

         Brie Pasquale, Loyola

         Taylor Weissenhofer, Valparaiso

         Marissa Michalkiewicz, Green Bay

         Susan Knight, Cleveland State

         Janelle Bouchard, Valparaiso

         Cynthia Woodward, Cleveland State

         Kayla Kostich, Detroit