Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Women's Gymnastics Earns Post-Season Bid

    Chantel Turk
    Chantel Turk
    Women's Gymnastics Home

    Catherine Dion to Return to Women's Gymnastics as Assistant Coach

    Top Flames Moment: UIC Tops Illinois State in Final Home Meet

    Top Flames Moment: Dion Named NCAA Regional Gymnast of the Year


    Physical Education Building

    UIC Flames Facebook

    UIC Flames Twitter


    March 26, 2012

    CHICAGO - The 32nd-ranked UIC women's gymnastics team is one of only 36 teams to earn a post-season bid, the team will make its ninth post-season appearance, and compete in the six-team Illinois Regional inside Assembly Hall in Champaign, Ill., on April 7. It was announced by the NCAA Monday afternoon.

    "We are really excited to go to a regional that is close by, so our fans that have helped us along throughout the season have a chance to come and see us compete," co-head coach Peter Jansson said. "We are excited to be competing against some of the super powers of collegiate women's gymnastics in Oklahoma and Stanford, but to also measure up against teams, such as Denver, Kentucky and Illinois. This team has worked extremely hard to reach this level, and it is really a celebration and reward of that kind of work that we will bring to the table."

    There are six host schools for the NCAA women's gymnastics regionals, including Auburn, Illinois, Arkansas, North Carolina State, Utah and Washington. In addition to the six host schools, there are five more teams in the regional, as well as five all-around competitors and one specialist for each event.

    Joining UIC inside Assembly Hall are No. 2 Oklahoma, No. 11 Stanford, No. 14 Denver, No. 22 Illinois and No. 24 Kentucky. Four of the five all-around competitors represent the Midwest Independent Conference, and include Kim Genereux (Illinois State), Rashonda Cannie (Texas Women's), Samantha King (Illinois State) and Megan Fosnow (Southeast Missouri State) and Kim Goutlund (Northern Illinois) representing the MAC Conference.

    The four specialists set to compete are, on vault, Kayla Jones (Texas Women's), Courtney Cochefski (Texas Women's) on uneven bars, Taylor Westrick (SEMO) on the balance beam and Tanya Rachan (NIU) on the floor exercise.

    The team last qualified for NCAA Regionals during the 2006-07 season.

    Regional Sites



    Auburn University, Auburn, Ala.

    No. 6, Georgia

    No. 7, Oregon State

    No. 18, Auburn

    No. 21, Michigan

    No. 27, West Virginia

    No. 32, Michigan State

    University of Illinois, Champaign, Ill.

    No. 2, Oklahoma

    No. 11, Stanford

    No. 14, Denver

    No. 22, Illinois

    No. 24, Kentucky

    No. 32, UIC

    University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.

    No. 3, UCLA

    No. 10, Arkansas

    No. 15, Boise State

    No. 19, Missouri

    No. 29, New Hampshire

    No. 24, Maryland

    North Carolina State, Raleigh, N.C.

    No. 1, Florida

    No. 12, Ohio State

    No. 20, North Carolina State

    No. 13, Penn State

    No. 26, Kent State

    No. 31, North Carolina

    University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah

    No. 5, Nebraska

    No. 8, Utah

    No. 17, Minnesota

    No. 24, Iowa State

    No. 28, Arizona State

    No. 35, San Jose State

    University of Washington, Seattle, Wash.

    No. 4, Alabama

    No. 9, LSU

    No. 16, Arizona

    No. 23, Washington

    No. 30, Iowa

    No. 36 Central Michigan