UIC Women's Gymnastics Set to Host MIC Championships

UIC co-head coach Peter Jansson.
UIC co-head coach Peter Jansson.

March 23, 2012

CHICAGO - The UIC women's gymnastics team will host the 2012 Midwest Independent Conference (MIC) Championships at the Physical Education Building Saturday night beginning at 7:30 p.m. Other league competitors include Centenary College, Illinois State, Southeast Missouri and Texas Woman's University.

Tickets for the event will be available at the door, or can be reserved by calling 312-413-UIC1. The PEB is located at 901 West Roosevelt Road in Chicago.

UIC, ranked 30th in the country, is coming off a second-place finish at the Illinois Classic last Saturday (March 17) in Champaign. The Flames competed against conference foe ISU, defeating the Redbirds by nearly two full points (196.150-194.350). UIC also out-paced Centenary and ISU the previous weekend (March 11) in Shreveport, La.

The Flames collected four MIC Gymnasts and/or Specialists of the Week honors this season, including Cynthia Lemieux-Guillemette claiming Specialist of the Week accolades on March 6. Kimberly Randall recorded the same honor on Feb. 28, while Chantel Turk was named MIC Specialist for the Week for the period ending Jan. 23. Andrea Skala claimed Gymnast of the Week accolades on Jan. 31.

SEMO claimed the team title last season in Cape Girardeau, Mo. TWU finished second, followed by UIC, Illinois State and Centenary. The Flames scored 48.900 on the vault, 47.375 on the bars, 48.225 from the beam and 47.575 on the floor. Their vault score was a high among all teams.

Lemieux-Guilemette was named the MIC Newcomer of the Year following last year's meet, while Turk and Catherine Dion were both named to the First-Team. UIC's members of the MIC Second-Team included Skala and Sarah Murray.



The top-three competitors in each individual event will be named All-Midwest Independent Conference. Academic All-Conference selections will also be announced, along with the Senior of the Year, Gymnast of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and the Coach of the Year.

Tickets for the Championships can be purchased for just $6, with a group rate of only $3. Gates at the PEB will open at 6 p.m.