Women's Gymnastics Finishes Second In MIC Championship

Peter and Mary Jansson earned
Peter and Mary Jansson earned

March 24, 2012

Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

CHICAGO – Senior co-captain Andrea Skala was named the MIC “Gymnast of the Year” and the “Senior-Athlete of the Year”, while co-head coaches Peter and Mary Jansson garnered “Coach of the Year” Saturday during the Midwest Independent Conference Championship. UIC placed second (194.725) in the five-team field Saturday inside the Physical Education Building in Chicago, Ill.

Illinois State finished first with 194.800 points, while Texas Women’s University was the third-place finisher (174.050). Centenary and Southeast Missouri State rounded out the team scores, 191.300 and 191.225, respectively.

In addition to the Flames earning three of the four conference awards they were nominated for, the team had four members on the first team all-conference team, which was made up of the top-three finishers from each event. In addition to Skala, Chantel Turk, Cynthia Lemieux-Guilemette and Catherine Dion.

UIC totaled a 48.575 on the vault, and were led by Turk with a 9.850, who placed second overall. On the parallel bars, an event that the team ranks 21st in the nation on, the Flames had 48.775 points, and were led by Skala and Lemieux-Guilemette with a 9.825, which the duo tied for first place overall.

Dion posted a 9.775 on the beam to place third among all competitors, while the Flames totaled a 48.600. UIC closed the meet out on the floor exercise, where Skala led UIC with a 9.800 to place third in the competition.

All-around competitor, Skala was the second-place finisher with a 38.875.

The Flames will now wait to hear if they will be post-season bound as the NCAA holds the selection show Monday at 2:00 p.m. (CT

Midwest Independent Conference Awards:

Newcomer of the Year: Spencer Jones, TWU

Gymnast of the Year: Andrea Skala, UIC

Senior-Athlete of the Year: Andrea Skala, UIC

Assistant Coach of the Year: Josh Nilson, TWU

Coach of the Year: Peter and Mary Jansson, UIC

First team All-MIC:

Kayla Jones, TWU

Chantel Turk, UIC

Elise Gray, ISU

Andrea Skala, UIC

Cynthia Lemiuex, UIC

Robin Weissman, ISU

Taylor Westrick, SEMO

Samantha King, ISU

Catherine Dion, UIC

Taryn Vanderpool, SEMO

Apollonia Barrientos, ISU

Kristin Edwards, TWU

Kim Genereux, ISU

Spencer Jones, TWU

Rashonda Cannie, TWU