UIC Women's Basketball Unveils 2013-14 Schedule

Katie Hannemann and the Flames will host 13 regular season games at the UIC Pavilion
Katie Hannemann and the Flames will host 13 regular season games at the UIC Pavilion

Sept. 19, 2013

UIC Women's Basketball 2013-14 Schedule
Printable 2013-14 Schedule

CHICAGO - UIC head women’s basketball coach Regina Miller released the Flames' complete 2013-14 schedule Thursday, a slate that features 13 regular season home games, two matchups with Big Ten programs and a trip to Puerto Rico for the San Juan Shootout. The Flames will also play five contests against in-state opponents and begin Horizon League play on Jan. 8, when UIC travels to Green Bay, an NCAA tournament participant in 2012-13.

"We've got a good mix of talented opponents on this year's schedule," said UIC head coach Regina Miller. "With two Big Ten foes, a handful of in-state opponents and the San Juan Shootout, the non-conference portion of the schedule will help prepare us for the Horizon League.”

Nine of UIC’s 29 games are against programs that advanced to a postseason tournament during the 2012-13 campaign. In addition to Green Bay (NCAA), the Flames play four teams that participated in the Women's National Invitation Tournament (WNIT) (Idaho State, Miami Ohio, Youngstown State and Butler) and one program that competed in the Women’s Basketball Invitational (WBI) (Detroit).

UIC will take the court for the first time on Saturday, Nov. 2, when the Flames entertain Elmhurst College in their lone exhibition game. The regular season opener is set for Friday, Nov. 8, when St. Xavier visits the UIC Pavilion. The Flames play at Northwestern two days later (Nov. 10) for the first of two Big Ten road matchups.

Idaho State (Nov. 15) and Miami Ohio (Nov. 23) both make visits to the Pavilion early in the season and the Flames play at Southern Illinois-Edwardsville (Nov. 20) between the two home dates. UIC defeated SIUE at the Pavilion last season (11/15/12), 68-61.

The Flames will then travel to Puerto Rico to participate in the San Juan Shootout during Thanksgiving Break. UIC will face Ohio (Nov. 29) and Texas Southern (Nov. 30) in tournament play.

UIC will stay on the road for the remainder of Winter Break as the Flames have matchups at Butler (Dec. 7), Western Michigan (Dec. 18) and Wisconsin (Dec. 21). The Flames defeated WMU at the Pavilion last season (12/28/12), 66-58.

The Flames will return home to take on Denver on Saturday, Dec. 28, before wrapping up the year by traveling to Northern Illinois on New Year’s Eve. UIC defeated NIU at the Pavilion last season (12/22/12), 66-61.

The Flames will play at Green Bay to begin Horizon League play on Wednesday, Jan. 8, the first of five road games during the month of January. The Phoenix were the No. 11 seed in the Spokane Region of the NCAA Tournament last season and fell to No. 6 LSU, 75-71, in the first round.

UIC will then play host to Youngstown State, the League's lone representative at the WNIT last season, on Saturday, Jan. 7. The Penguins finished the 2012-13 season with a 23-10 record and won one game in the WNIT.

The Flames will travel through Michigan to take on Detroit (Jan. 16) and new Horizon League member Oakland (Jan. 18). Last season, Detroit defeated McNeese State, 73-62, to capture the 2013 WBI title.

Two of the Flames' final three games during the month of January will be at home against Valparaiso (Jan. 21) and Cleveland State (Jan. 25), before a road tilt at Milwaukee on Wednesday, Jan. 29.

UIC will begin the month of February with three consecutive home contests, Wright State (Feb. 1), Oakland (Feb. 4) and Green Bay (Feb. 8). The Flames will then play two straight road games, at Valparaiso (Feb. 10) and Wright State (Feb. 15). Milwaukee makes a visit to the Pavilion on Monday, Feb. 17, before the final two road contests of the season, Youngstown State (Feb. 27) and Cleveland State (March 1).

The Flames will wrap up the Horizon League regular season by hosting Detroit on Thursday, March 6. The postseason Horizon League Tournament will begin on Monday, March 10, with three first-round games being hosted by the higher seed.