Campbell, Story and Bender Earn All-League Honors

Ruvanna Campbell won the Defensive Player of the Year award. She was also named to the All-League First Team and the All-Defensive Team
Ruvanna Campbell won the Defensive Player of the Year award. She was also named to the All-League First Team and the All-Defensive Team

March 10, 2014

Official Horizon League Press Release

INDIANAPOLIS - Three UIC women's basketball players have been awarded for their stellar seasons. The Horizon League announced its All-League awards Monday (March 10) and Ruvanna Campbell, Rachel Story and Terri Bender earned recognition. The awards were voted on by the League’s head coaches, sports information directors and media.

Campbell took home the first Defensive Player of the Year award in program history. Additionally, Campbell was named to the All-League First Team and the All-Defensive Team. Story earned All-League Second Team honors while Bender was voted to the All-Defensive Team.

Campbell and Bender earn All-League honors for the first time in their careers. Story was selected to the 2012-13 All-Newcomer Team.

The last UIC player to be selected to the All-League First Team and All-Defensive Team in the same year was Jasmine Bailey in 2011-12. The Flames have two players on the All-Defensive Team for the first time since 2002-03 when Jaysie Chambers and LeKesa Williams were honored.

Nationally, Campbell ranks seventh in rebounding (12.1 rpg) and 11th in double-doubles (21). She is one of only four players in the nation averaging at least 16 points, 12 rebounds and shooting over 50 percent from the field.

Campbell leads the Horizon League in double-doubles, rebounds, defensive rebounds (7.3 per game) and offensive rebounds (4.8 per game). She also ranks second in blocks (1.4 bpg), fifth in field-goal percentage (.516), seventh in scoring (16.6 ppg) and ninth in steals (1.7 spg). Campbell was named the Horizon League's "Player of the Week" on Jan. 6.

Campbell's 12.1 rebounds per game are the highest in the Horizon League since Evansville's Christy Greis pulled down 12.8 boards per contest in 1992-93. Campbell's 13.1 rebounds per game in conference play are the highest in the history of the conference.

Story recorded 12 20-plus point efforts and 24 double-digit scoring performances. Story is averaging 17.7 points per game, which ranks fourth in the Horizon League. She started the season with six 20-plus point efforts in 10 games. Story drained 50 three-pointers and was twice named the Horizon League's "Player of the Week" (Nov. 25 and Dec. 23).

Bender leads the Horizon League and ranks 11th nationally with 2.9 steals per game. Her 85 steals are the third most in a single-season at UIC. Bender collected at least four steals on 11 occasions and averaged 3.25 steals per game in League play.

UIC (21-8, 10-6 HL) owns the nation's third largest turnaround with 12 more victories than the 2012-13 season. The Flames set the program record with 21 wins and tied the program record with 11 straight victories from Nov. 15 - Jan. 3.

The 2014 Horizon League Tournament begins tonight at 6 p.m. CT as No. 9 Valparaiso plays at No. 8 Detroit in First Round action. No. 4 UIC plays host to No. 5 Cleveland State (14-15, 9-7 HL) in Wednesday's (March 12) Quarterfinal round. Tip-off with the Vikings is at 7 p.m. CT inside the UIC Pavilion. The Horizon League title game will be played at noon CT on Sunday (March 16) on ESPNU.

2013-14 Horizon League Women's Basketball Awards
Player of the Year:
Kim Demmings, Wright State (Jr., G)
Freshman of the Year: Tesha Buck, Green Bay
Defensive Player of the Year: Ruvanna Campbell, UIC (So., F)
Sixth Player of the Year: Monica Touvelle, Youngstown State (Sr., G)
Coach of the Year: Kevin Borseth, Green Bay

All-League First Team

Kim Demmings, Wright State (Jr., G)
Ruvanna Campbell, UIC (So., F)
Heidi Schlegel, Youngstown State (Jr., F)
Imani Gordon, Cleveland State (Jr., F)
Ivory James, Wright State (Sr., G)

All-League Second-Team
Angela Rodriguez, Milwaukee (Sr., G)
Rachel Story, UIC (Sr., G)
Senee Shearer, Detroit (Sr., G)
Kaili Lukan, Green Bay (So., G)
Bethany Watterworth, Oakland (Sr., F)

All-Freshman Team
Tesha Buck, Green Bay
Mehryn Kraker, Green Bay
Jenna Hirsch, Youngstown State
Megan Galloway, Detroit
Khayla Livingston, Cleveland State

All-Defensive Team

Ruvanna Campbell, UIC (So., F)
Megan Lukan, Green Bay (Jr., G)
Terri Bender, UIC (So., G)
Kim Bee, Oakland (Sr., F)
Tay'ler Mingo, Wright State (Jr., G)