Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Horizon League Announces All-League Women's Basketball Team

    Junior Jaysie Chambers was selected to the Horizon League All-Second Team on Wednesday.
    Junior Jaysie Chambers was selected to the Horizon League All-Second Team on Wednesday.
    Women's Basketball Home

    WBI CHAMPIONS IN REVIEW: Katie Hannemann Highlights

    Katie Hannemann Featured in The Southtown Star

    WBI CHAMPIONS IN REVIEW: Rachel Story Highlights


    UIC Pavilion


    UIC Flames Twitter


    Feb. 27, 2002

    Indianapolis, Ind. - Junior forward Jaysie Chambers was named to the All-Horizon League Second Team announced by the league on Wednesday.

    Chambers becomes the second player in UIC history to be named to the second-team. Melea Clark garnered second-team honors last season.

    Chambers leads UIC with 12.1 points per game and 7.0 boards per contest. She also leads the

    school record with 15 field goals as she scored a career-high 36 points in a 83-76 victory Viall also captured 2002 Horizon League Player of the Year honors.Horizon League with 3.07 offensive rebounds per game. The Pleasanton, California native tied a over Butler on January 19th.

    Detroit nabbed two players on the Horizon League first team in Michelle James and Randee Henry. The Detroit duo was joined on the first team by Cleveland State's Erika Roudebush, UW-Green Bay's Mandy Stowe and UW-Milwaukee's Maria Viall.

    Detroit's Molly Peterman, UW-Green Bay's Sara Boyer and UW-Milwaukee's Holly Tamm and Jessica Wilhite joined Chambers on the second team.

    The All-Newcomer team is composed of Maria Marchesano (Butler), Ciara Henderson (Loyola), Malika Willoughby (UW-Milwaukee), Tiffany Webb (Wright State) and newcomer of the year, Jen Perugini (Youngstown State).

    Regular-season champion, UW-Green Bay was awarded two spots on the all-defensive team in Elizabeth Dudley and Kristy Loiselle. The Green Bay duo is joined by Butler's Nancy Bowden, Detroit's Michelle James and UW-Milwaukee's Allison Klaas.

    UW-Green Bay coach Kevin Borseth captured Horizon League Coach of the Year honors for the third time in the last four years.

    Chambers will lead the Flames into action on Thursday afternoon, as they will take on the No. 2 seed UW-Milwaukee Panthers in the Horizon League Quarterfinals at 1:00 PM at Loyola's Gentile Center.

    All Horizon League
    First Team
    G - Erika Roudebush, Cleveland State
    G - Michelle James, Detroit
    F - Randee Henry, Detroit
    F - Mandy Stowe, UW-Green Bay
    C - Maria Viall, UW-Milwaukee

    Second Team G - Molly Peterman, Detroit G - Sara Boyer, UW-Green Bay G - Holly Tamm, UW-Milwaukee G - Jessica Wilhite, UW-Milwaukee F - Jaysie Chambers, UIC

    Player of the Year Maria Viall, UW-Milwaukee

    Coach of the Year Kevin Borseth, UW-Green Bay

    All-Newcomer Team G - Maria Marchesano, Butler G - Ciara Henderson, Loyola G - Malika Willoughby, UW-Milwaukee G - Tiffany Webb, Wright State F - Jen Perugini, Youngstown State

    Newcomer of the Year Jen Perugini, Youngstown State

    All Defensive Team G - Nancy Bowden, Butler G - Michelle James, Detroit G - Elizabeth Dudley, UW-Green Bay G - Kristy Loiselle, UW-Green Bay