Cross Country Completes Competition At Midwest Regional

The Flames finish their season.
The Flames finish their season.

Nov. 12, 2011

Men's Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

Dekalb, Ill. - The UIC men's cross country team finished in 21st place and totaled 552 points at the Midwest Regional Saturday at Anderson Field in Dekalb, Ill. Senior Brian Denk (Darien, Ill./Hinsdale South) led the Flames in the ten-kilometer race with a 79th-place finish in 33:26.98. Freshman Tess Ehrhardt (Geneva, Ill./Geneva) finished in 89th place in 22:56.01 at the six-kilometer distance.

The men's team was paced by Denk and senior Sam Kehoe (LaGrange Park, Ill./Lyons Township). Kehoe tallied a 103rd-place finish in 34:01.09. Senior Tyler Hinckley (Schaumburg, Ill./Conant) rounded out the top three Flames by finishing in 117th place in 34:16.18. Other runners for the Flames were sophomore Josh Uvodich (Crystal Lake, Ill./Crystal Lake South), senior Roger Pinon (Chicago, Ill./Quigley Prep) and freshman Gunnar Sterne (West Chicago, Ill./West Chicago). Uvodich notched a 130th-place finish in 34:37.99, while Pinon ended in 137th place in 34:53.14. Sterne finished in 153rd place in 35:29.09.

"For our men, it was a disappointing way to end the season," said head coach Jim Knoedel. "They all have worked extremely hard over the past two-and-a-half months and were deserving of more."

The state of Oklahoma was well represented at the competition with Oklahoma State (42 points) winning the men's team race. Oklahoma (45 points) took second and Tulsa (120 points) finished third. Loyola, the only other Horizon League team in the race finished 11th with 305 points.

On the women's side, the Flames were represented by Ehrhardt, junior Jaime Johnson (River Grove, Ill./East Leyden), and junior Alexandra Ovington (Crystal Lake,Ill./Prairie Ridge). Ehrhardt led the Flames with an 89th-place finish in 22:56.01. Johnson finished in 169th place in 24:44.82 and Ovington grabbed a 185th-place finish in 27:08.40.

"We ran with a depleted women's team, "said Knoedel. "But I was pleased with the performance of Tess Ehrhardt. This was her first national caliber competition and she responded well."

Iowa State won the women's team race with 64 points. Oklahoma State captured second with 119 points. Minnesota walked away with a third place finish with 136 points.