Men's Track and Field Places Third At Tadd Metzger Invitational

Junior transfer Marcus Lesley won the 55-meter hurdles on Saturday with a time of 7.68.
Junior transfer Marcus Lesley won the 55-meter hurdles on Saturday with a time of 7.68.

Feb. 5, 2005

Kenosha, Wis. - A trio of transfers combined for five, top-three marks on Saturday afternoon to help lift the University of Illinois at Chicago men's track and field squad to a third-place finish in the Tadd Metzger Invitational, hosted by Carthage College.

Junior transfer Marcus Lesley won the 55-meter hurdles with a time of 7.68 and added a third-place time of 6.5 in the 55-meter dash.

Sophomore sprinter Trent Thompson finished second overall in the 400-meter dash with a season-best, time of 51.01. Thompson was narrowly edged by teammate and fellow transfer Brandon Cook (22.65) for second-place in the 200-meter dash with a mark of 22.93.

UW-Whitewater claimed the overall title with 138 points, followed by Carthage (128), UIC (125), Aquinas College (94), Ohio Northern (77), Concordia (56), St. Norbert (45), Fleet Feet Chicago (20), WRRT (10), Northern Iowa (10), Oakton CC (6), Greater Milwaukee TC (4), Benedictine (4) and Carthage Red (1).

Freshman Joseph Mbari was the other individual winner for the Flames, claiming the 5,000-meter run title with a time of 15:18.85. UIC also took home the Distance Medley Relay event with a time of 10:42.52.

Sophomore distance specialist Jim Sulzberger added a runner-up mark in the 3,000-meter run with a time of 8:47.10, edging teammate Mikhail Davidyan (8:47.14).

Other second-place finishers for the Flames include: freshman Jorge Flores (1,000-meter run, 2:41.89) and freshman Mike Savegnago (high jump, 1.95 meters).

Freshman Terell Williams rounded out the top-three finishers for the Flames with a pair of third-place and season-best finishes in both the pole vault (4.34 meters) and long jump (6.63 meters).



UIC will be back in action on Feb. 12th, as they will split up the squad and head to both the Butler Invitational (1:00 p.m.) and Lewis Invitational (3:00 p.m.).