Swimming & Diving Continues To Take Top Times At Championships

Joel Demuth
Joel Demuth

March 1, 2013

Complete Results

CHICAGO – The UIC men's and women's swimming & diving teams continued to set career-best times and break records, as day three of the Horizon League Championships came to a close at the Flames Natatorium.  Monica Pinkus produced an NCAA B qualifying time of 1:01.38 in the 100 breast, while the women's 800 free relay team brought in four records of its own.

Christian Grobe, Kei Ishimaru, Joel Demuth, Conor Ozog and Brian Sivak led the men's team through their respective events, as the 800 free relay team of Demuth, Ryota Kuwahara, Ishimaru and Vince Errichiello came in fifth with a time of 6:46.76.

Grobe secured a fourth-place finish in the 400 IM with a career-best time of 3:59.03.  While setting bests of their own, John Mordach came in eighth with 4:04.96 and Josh Jacobson registered a time of 4:00.11 to lead the consolation final.

Six Flames competed in the final and consolation of the 100 fly, with Ishimaru taking the top time of 49.53 for fourth and Errichiello taking a time of 50.19 for eighth.  Sebastian Ostrowski (50.05) and Sean Mayfield (50.42) also came in with career bests, as Zachary McClernon and Peter Errichiello rounded out the field after taking bests in prelims with 51.29 and 51.55, respectively.

Demuth set a career high with his time of 1:39.50 for third place in the 200 free.  Kuwahara also competed in the final to finish with a time of 1:42.53 after taking a time of 1:41.83 in prelims, with Mike Reed competing in consolation after a prelim time of 1:42.09.

In the 100 breast, Ozog came in fifth with a time of 56.77, 56.76 in prelims, and Grobe took seventh with a career-best 56.93, as Brayden Amendola swam in the consolation with a time of 58.33, a prelim time of 58.18.

Individual events concluded with the 100 back, as Sivak pulled away for third with a career-best 49.92 and (Peter) Errichiello (50.91) and Ostrowski (51.01) rounded out the final leg.

The women's team was able to produce six school records after top times from Veronica Gibson, Melanie Waszak, Pinkus, Anne Jacobsen and Whitney Johnson, with Danel Voorhees leading UIC in the 100 fly.  The 800 free relay team came in at the end of competition to oust Horizon League, Championship, UIC and Flames Natatorium records.

Beginning with the 400 IM, Gibson took out her competitors to take first place with a school-record time of 4:23.65.  Gisun Pak also competed to produce a best time on the season with 4:38.05 in the consolation.

After breaking the school record in the prelims, Waszak came back in the finals of the 200 free to set it again with a time of 1:49.66 for first place.  Emily Gniatczyk was close behind with a season-best time of 1:51.62 and Katherine Hare came in with a career time of 1:53.18.

Pinkus came into the 100 breast to finish in 1:01.38, a school record and NCAA B qualifying time, for second place, after producing an NCAA B standard in prelims with 1:02.28, while Andrea Longlade (1:07.44), Alisa Penkala (1:07.54, a career best) and Xenia Kopylova (1:09.85) competed in the consolation.

In the 100 back, Jacobsen set a school record with her time of 55.69 for second place, as Voorhees took second in the consolation with a career-best time of 59.33.

Johnson brought in the final individual record in 1-meter diving, capturing a first-place score of 296.95 following a prelims score of 276.55.  Grace Miller competed in consolation and came in with a score of 219.85.

Voorhees led the Flames in the 100 fly with a career time of 56.13 for fourth place, with Kelsey Millin coming in fifth with 56.96.  Devon O'Neil went up in the consolation to record a career-high 58.41.

Waszak, Millin, Hare and Gniatczyk broke out with speed in the 800 free relay, finishing in a staggering time of 7:23.81 for Horizon League, Championship, UIC and Flames Natatorium records.  Gniatczyk brought in the final 200 in 1:49.56.

Saturday presents the final day of the Horizon League Championships, with prelims at 10 a.m. (CT), men’s 3-meter diving at 1:30 p.m. and finals starting at 5:30 p.m.