Swimming And Diving Teams Finish Solid At Horizon League Championships

March 1, 2003

Chicago, Ill. - The UIC swimming and diving teams concluded their seasons on Saturday at the Horizon League Championships in Cleveland, as the women's team finished fourth, while the men's team grabbed fifth-place.

Wright State (779.5) won the women's competition followed by UW-Green Bay (738), UW-Milwaukee (654), UIC (440), Cleveland State (307), Butler (244) and Youngstown State (230.5).

For the men, Wright State (726) was the champion followed by UW-Green Bay (689), Cleveland State (672), UW-Milwaukee (511), UIC (487) and Butler (139).

The men's team closed the gap on its league rivals, as the Flames were just 24 points out of fourth, as they racked up well over 100 points more than their output a year ago.

With that said, head coach Paul Moniak was selected by his peers as the Horizon League men's swimming Coach of the Year. Also making his presence felt was head diving coach Larry Barcheski, who was selected as men's diving Coach of the Year on the men's side.

Michael Magee highlighted the final day of competition winning the three-meter diving competition with a score of 453.80.

For his efforts, Magee was named the Diver of the Meet for the second time in the last three years.

Enric Claret took third in the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:06.03, while LeRoy Stevens capped an impressive rookie campaign by taking fourth in the 100-yard free in 45.82.

The 400-yard free relay team of Claret, Stevens, Ari Bernstein and Adan Jimenez took third in 3:03.52.

On the women's side, Jamie Redway lead the way for the Flames as she took third in the 1650-yard free in 17:37.95. Laura Martensen added a fourth-place in the same event in 17:42.20.



Caitlin Carey added a fourth-place finish on the one-meter board with a tally of 219.20.