Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Record-Breaking Finish For Flames At 2004 Horizon League Championships

    LeRoy Stevens was part of two more UIC school records on Saturday.
    LeRoy Stevens was part of two more UIC school records on Saturday.
    Men's Swimming Home

    Swimming & Diving Adds Mike Tubb as Assistant Coach

    Jeremy Rohrman Featured by Sun-Times Media

    Top Flames Moment: Ishimaru and Ciesielski Win HL Weekly Awards


    Flames Natatorium

    UIC Flames Facebook

    UIC Flames Twitter


    Feb. 28, 2004

    Complete Results

    Day 4 Results

    Chicago, Ill.- The University of Illinois at Chicago men's and women's swimming and diving teams finished an outstanding overall showing at the 2004 Horizon League Swimming & Diving Championships, taking fourth place on both sides at the UIC Natatorium.

    LeRoy Stevens broke the UIC school record in an exciting 100-yard freestyle, taking third in the event with a 45.38. Elvis Cirkovic, who broke the Horizon League record in the 100 free with a 44.48 in prelims, took the finals in 44.55.

    Stevens was also part of a record-breaking 400-yard freestyle relay squad, teaming with Ari Bernstein, Blake Booher and Enric Claret to establish a new school mark of 3:01.99, beating the old record by almost two seconds.

    Wright State successfully defended their men's and women's team titles while setting a new league record in the women's 400-yard freestyle (3:30.11) and posting a new pool record in the men's 400 free relay (3:01.43).

    Laura Brager of UW-Green Bay set a new league record in the 200-yard backstroke, taking the event in 2:02.66.

    UIC had a strong diving presence throughout, concluding the meet with Caitlin Carey's fifth-place performance in the three-meter diving finals, while Mike Horwitz, Joe Scharnak and Ryan Fitzer all placed in the men's one-meter finals.

    The Flames finished the championships with 12 new school records, as the men and women each set six new marks. It was an exceptional showing for UIC at their home pool, with the men beating out UW-Milwaukee after just barely dropping to the Panthers last year.



    2004 Horizon League Championships

    Final Team Results


    1. Wright State University- 802.50

    2. UW-Green Bay- 783

    3. UW-Milwaukee- 6776

    4. University of Illinois at Chicago- 429.50

    5. Cleveland State University-339

    6. Youngstown State- 273

    7. Butler University- 233


    1. Wright State University- 778

    2. UW-Green Bay- 711

    3. Cleveland State- 673

    4. University of Illinois at Chicago- 526

    5. UW-Milwaukee- 494

    6. Butler University- 244

    2004 Horizon League Championships Awards

    Men's Swimmer of the Meet: Zach Hansen, UW-Green Bay

    Women's Swimmer of the Meet: Julie Coghlan, Wright State

    Men's Diver of the Meet: Chris Jones, Cleveland State

    Women's Diver of the Meet: Kalyn Leveto, Youngstown State

    Men's Swimming & Diving Athlete of the Year: Warren Vickers, Cleveland State

    Women's Swimming & Diving Athlete of the Year: Jackie Dexter, Wright State

    Men's Newcomer of the Year: Rafael Candido, Wright State

    Women's Newcomer of the Year: Marianne Lionell, Cleveland State

    Men's Swimming Coach of the Year: Matt Liddy, Wright State

    Women's Swimming Coach of the Year: Matt Liddy, Wright State

    Men's Diving Coach of the Year: Rich Karban, Cleveland State

    Women's Diving Coach of the Year: Nick Gavolas, Youngstown State