Men Take Third, Women Place Fourth At Horizon League Championships

Daniel Corley
Daniel Corley

Feb. 25, 2012

Complete Results

BROWN DEER, Wis. – The UIC men’s and women’s swimming & diving teams concluded competition on Saturday at the Horizon League Championships by taking one last individual win on behalf of Melanie Waszak.  The men’s squad finished in third place with 701.5, while the women came in fourth with 566.5.  Milwaukee claimed the title on both sides, with the men registering 901 and the women with 759.5.

"Overall we were pleased with how both teams performed," head coach Paul Moniak said.  "The men's team lost a tight battle for second place and the women set 10 school records, including records in all five relays.  Also, all of the women's relays finished in the top three.  In addition, Monica Pinkus achieved the first NCAA "B" Time Standard in UIC women's team history (100 Breaststroke).  This bodes well for the future of our program."

The last day of events included the 1650 free, 200 back, 100 free, 200 breast, 200 fly, 400 free relay and the three-meter dive on the women’s side.  Numerous personal bests were set in addition to top times on the season.

In each event the men’s squad competed in, every participant registered a personal best on the season.  Beginning the day in the 1650 free, Zach Van Swol came in third with 15:48.70, while Alex Webster took ninth with 16:13.53.  Leading the way in the 200 back was Brian Sivak with fifth place in the A Final with 1:51.70, as John Mordach took 10th (1:53.25).

The 100 free was filled with UIC swimmers, as Daniel Corley captured third place with 45.01 in the A Final, with Gabe Cury and Joel Demuth taking sixth place at 45.22 and eighth place at 45.29, respectively.  Cleveland State’s Berry Thompson recorded a championship and league record with 43.33.

Will Ikeda and Conor Ozog competed in the 200 breast for UIC, as they captured fourth (2:02.95) and fifth (2:03.76) place.  In the 200 fly, Josh Jacobson claimed fifth with 1:51.53 and Luke Martinez grabbed sixth with 1:52.07 in the A Final. 

Competition concluded for the men as they competed in the 400 free relay with the team of Demuth, Corley, Van Swol and Cury with a fourth-place finish of 3:00.62, a NCAA B standard.

The women’s squad marked several top performances, being led by Waszak’s championship swim, along with school records from Andrea Longlade and the 400 free relay team.

In the 1650 free, Sarah Pardue placed 12th with 17:55.18 and Lillian Cabel took 22nd with 18.53.83.  Clair Martin led UIC in the 200 back while competing in the A Final to take third with 2:01.17. 

The 100 free was led by Marissa Yontz and Emily Gniatczyk, as they came in third and fourth, respectively, with 51.28 and 51.33 in the A Final.  It was in the 200 breast that Andrea Longlade set a school record with her second-place finish of 2:18.34.  Sarah Walsh came in right behind at third with 2:18.48, as Monica Pinkus finished at sixth with 2:20.24.

Waszak brought in the win for UIC in the 200 fly with 2:01.24.  She additionally set a championship and league record with her prelim time of 2:00.87.  Kelsey Millin also competed in the 200 fly and claimed seventh with 2:06.17.

In the three-meter dive, Whitney Johnson and Kristi Carling competed in the A Final after posting respective scores of 243.95 and 268.80 in the prelims.  Johnson took sixth in the finals with 238.60 and Carling came in at seventh with 233.80.

UIC’s 400 free relay team of Gniatczyk, Pinkus, Yontz and Waszak came in second with 3:25.98 to mark a school record.  Gniatczyk led the team with her start-off time of 51.19.

It was another day of setting championship and league records in addition to Waszak’s.  Milwaukee set records in the 200 back by Becky Yokosh with 1:58.85 and the 200 breast by Emily McClellan with 2:08.94.  In the three-meter dive, Kacey Cummings of Cleveland State posted 300.95 and in the 400 free relay, Cleveland State came in with 3:22.32.

The Flames now wait to see if they qualify for the NCAA Championships, taking place March 15-17 in Auburn, Ala., for the women and March 22-24 in Seattle, Wash., for the men.