Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Kreps Named to Horizon League's Preseason Second-Team



    Men's Basketball Home

    Horizon League Men's Basketball Schedule Announced

    Former Basketball Star Scott VanderMeer Continues Pro Career in Uruguay

    Robo Kreps Joins UIC Basketball Staff as Graduate Manager


    UIC Pavilion

    UIC Flames Facebook

    Howard Moore Twitter


    Top 25 Rankings



    Horizon League Preseason Poll/All-League Teams Get Acrobat Reader

    Oct. 19, 2010

    CHICAGO - Senior guard Robo Kreps, the Horizon League's fifth-leading returning scorer, was named to the preseason All-Second Team in a poll conducted by the league's media, head coaches and sports information directors, it was announced Tuesday afternoon.

    Kreps averaged a team-high 15.2 points per game last season, while leading the Horizon League in minutes played (35.7 mpg). The two-year starter has ranked in the top-10 of the league in scoring in each of the past two seasons, and enters his senior campaign with 1,105 career points, ranking 16th on the all-time scoring list at UIC.

    As a junior last season, Kreps set career highs in points (456), rebounds (116), assists (64), steals (42), field goals (142), three-pointers (56), free throws made (116) and minutes played (1,070). He made two game-winning baskets, scored a career-high 31 points against Detroit (12/31/09) and averaged 22.0 points per game in UIC's final four games.

    The Horizon League Preseason First-Team was comprised of Butler guard Shelvin Mack (also the Preseason Player of the Year), Cleveland State guard Norris Cole, forward Matt Howard of Butler, Green Bay guard Rahmon Fletcher and Valparaiso's Brandon Wood.

    Joining Kreps on the Preseason Second-Team was Wright State guard Vaughn Duggins, Detroit forward Eli Holman, and guards Cory Johnson and Chase Simon, of Valparaiso and Detroit, respectively.

    UIC was picked ninth in the preseason team poll, 25 points behind eighth place Loyola and 54 points ahead of 10th place Youngstown State. Butler, a 2010 NCAA Tournament finalist, was the unanimous pick to repeat as Horizon League Champions. Detroit was picked second, followed by Cleveland State, fourth place Valparaiso, Milwaukee, sixth place Wright State and Green Bay, who was picked seventh in the poll.