Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Horizon League Announces Men's Basketball Schedule
     

     
    Gary Talton, a member of the HL All-Newcomer Team last season, returns as UIC's leading scorer.
     
    Gary Talton, a member of the HL All-Newcomer Team last season, returns as UIC's leading scorer.
     
    Men's Basketball Home

    HEADLINES
    Howard Moore in National Spotlight via His UW Recruit Frank Kaminsky

    Pat Birt Featured in RedEye's March Madness Edition

    UIC Goes Down Fighting in 73-63 Defeat at Valparaiso

    RELATED LINKS
    Tickets

    UIC Pavilion

    UIC Flames Facebook

    Howard Moore Twitter

    NATIONAL COVERAGE

    CBSSports.com Hoops

    Top 25 Rankings

    Bracketology


     

    Aug. 23, 2012

    CHICAGO - The Horizon League announced the make-up of the 2013 men's basketball schedule Thursday, a 16-game slate for each team which begins on Wednesday Jan. 2, when UIC hosts Youngstown State at the Pavilion.

    Among UIC's highlighted League match-ups is the Feb. 16 game at cross-town rival Loyola - the Flames and Ramblers will be featured in the Horizon League Game of the Week. Notably, the Flames will finish the season at the confines of the UIC Pavilion, hosting Wright State (Feb. 26) and Detroit (March 2) in the final two regular season games - those contests will be preceded by a home BracketBusters game on Saturday, Feb. 23.

    The Horizon League Tournament will begin on Tues., March 5, with three first-round games. The winners, along with the No. 3 seed, will be in action on Friday, March 9, with semifinals set for the following day. ESPNU will carry both semifinals, at 8:30 and 10:30 p.m. ET. The Horizon League Championship will air on Tuesday, March 12, at 9 p.m. EST, on ESPN or ESPN2.

    As part of their long-term partnership, the Horizon League and ESPN are finalizing national television selections for the coming season. An announcement regarding the full slate of Horizon League-ESPN telecasts should be released in the coming month.

    Last year, the Horizon League sent a conference-record five teams into postseason play. Over the last 11 seasons, the League's NCAA Tournament winning percentage is the best among all non-Power 6 conferences.

    UIC's non-conference schedule will be released in the coming weeks. The Flames will compete in the US Virgin Islands Paradise Jam at University of the Virgin Islands from Nov. 16-19, 2012. The Flames, who also competed in the annual event during the 2007-08 season, will begin the tournament by taking on New Mexico on Friday, Nov. 16.

    Wednesday, Jan. 2
    Youngstown State at UIC, 7:00 p.m.

    Monday, Jan. 7
    UIC at Cleveland State, 6:00 p.m.

    Wednesday, Jan. 9
    Valparaiso at UIC, 7:00 p.m.

     

     

    Saturday, Jan. 12
    UIC at Green Bay, TBA

    Wednesday, Jan. 16
    Loyola at UIC, 7:00 p.m.

    Saturday, Jan. 19
    UIC at Detroit, TBA

    Wednesday, Jan. 23
    Milwaukee at UIC, 7:00 p.m.

    Saturday, Jan. 26
    UIC at Wright State, TBA

    Thursday, Jan. 31
    Green Bay at UIC, 7:00 p.m.

    Saturday, Feb. 2
    Cleveland State at UIC, 7:00 p.m.

    Tuesday, Feb. 5
    UIC at Valparaiso, 7:00 p.m.

    Sunday, Feb. 10
    UIC at Youngstown State, 1:00 p.m.

    Saturday, Feb. 16
    UIC at Loyola, 1:00 p.m. (HL GOW)

    Wednesday, Feb. 20
    UIC at Milwaukee, 7:00 p.m.

    Saturday, Feb. 23
    UIC vs. TBA (Home BracketBusters game), TBA

    Tuesday, Feb. 26
    Wright State at UIC, 7:00 p.m.

    Saturday, March 2
    Detroit at UIC, 1:00 p.m.

    Tuesday, March 5
    Horizon League Tournament 1st Round:

    Game 1 - No. 9 seed at No. 4 seed
    Game 2 - No. 8 seed at No. 5 seed
    Game 3 - No. 7 seed at No. 6 seed

    Friday, March 8
    Horizon League Tournament 2nd Round:

    Game 4 - Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner
    Game 5 - No. 3 seed vs. Game 3 winner

    Saturday, March 9
    Horizon League Tournament Semifinals:

    Game 6 - Game 5 winner vs. No. 2 seed
    Game 7 - Game 4 winner at No. 1 seed

    Tuesday, March 11
    Horizon League Championship
    Winner Game 6 vs. Winner Game 7