Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Howard Moore Named Finalist for Ben Jobe Award

    Head coach Howard Moore
    Head coach Howard Moore
    Men's Basketball Home

    Horizon League Men's Basketball Schedule Announced

    Former Basketball Star Scott VanderMeer Continues Pro Career in Uruguay

    Robo Kreps Joins UIC Basketball Staff as Graduate Manager


    UIC Pavilion

    UIC Flames Facebook

    Howard Moore Twitter


    Top 25 Rankings



    March 12, 2013

    CHICAGO - UIC head men's basketball coach Howard Moore, who has led the Flames to one of the largest turnarounds in the nation during the 2012-13 season, was named one-of 20 finalists for the Ben Jobe Award, which annually honors the top minority head coach in the Division I ranks.

    The 2013 recipient will be announced at the awards banquet in Atlanta, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

    Moore orchestrated a turnaround that was bolstered by an increase of nine total wins (17) from the 2011-12 campaign (8), including a winning percentage increase of 26.46. UIC posted notable wins over 2012 postseason foes Mercer, Iona, Northwestern, Colorado State, Cleveland State and Milwaukee. The Flames also garnered the No. 5 seed in the Horizon League Tournament, their best regular season finish since securing the No. 4 seed at the conclusion of the 2007-08 campaign.

    UIC began the season with a 9-1 record, and appeared in the Mid-Major Top-25 in four-consecutive weeks. The Flames, who were eliminated from the Horizon League Championship on a buzzer-beater in the quarterfinals, are continuing to practice in hopes of being selected for a postseason berth.

    Other finalists for the Ben Jobe Award are Tommy Amaker (Harvard), Mike Anderson (Arkansas), Kevin Baggett (Rider), Roman Banks (Southern), Jamion Christian (Mount St. Mary's), Mike Davis (Texas Southern), Anthony Evans (Norfolk State), Anthony Grant (Alabama), James Green (Jacksonville State), Frank Haith (Missouri), Joe Jones (Boston University), Cuonzo Martin (Tennessee), Bashir Mason (Wagner), Ray McCallum (Detroit), Marvin Menzies (New Mexico State), LeVelle Moton (North Carolina Central), Kevin Ollie (Connecticut), Shaka Smart (VCU) and John Thompson III (Georgetown).

    The Ben Jobe Award is presented annually to the top minority coach in Division I men's basketball. Coach Jobe is an icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities. He is best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons. He has also head coach at Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Talladega, Tuskegee and South Carolina State.