Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Mayo, VanderMeer Earn Horizon League Postseason Honors

    Senior guard Josh Mayo earned All-Horizon League First Team honors for the second straight season.
    Senior guard Josh Mayo earned All-Horizon League First Team honors for the second straight season.
    Men's Basketball Home

    UIC Basketball Adds D'Juan Miller From Eastern Arizona College

    Howard Moore in National Spotlight via His UW Recruit Frank Kaminsky

    Pat Birt Featured in RedEye's March Madness Edition


    UIC Pavilion

    UIC Flames Facebook

    Howard Moore Twitter


    Top 25 Rankings



    March 2, 2009

    CHICAGO- UIC senior guard Josh Mayo (Merrillville, Ind./Merrillville H.S.) was named to the 2008-09 All-Horizon League First Team, the league office announced on Monday, March 2.

    Senior center Scott VanderMeer (Dyer, Ind./Lake Central H.S.) also received postseason accolades by earning a spot on the league's All-Defensive Team for the third consecutive year.

    Mayo, who was named to the All-Horizon League First Team for the second straight season, led the conference in scoring for most of the year. He completed the regular season with a team-leading average of 16.9 ppg, which is currently good for second in the league.

    The fourth-year sharpshooter also ranks second in the league in free throw percentage (86.2%), third in three-point field goals made (2.5 3PT FG per game), seventh in assists (3.4 apg) and 10th in three-point efficiency (38.5%).

    Mayo now ranks as UIC's fourth all-time leading scorer with 1,680 career points.

    VanderMeer is the league's leading rebounder (8.9 rpg) and shot-blocker (2.6 bpg). The 7-foot center broke the Horizon League's record for career blocks earlier this season and has elevated the mark to 271 rejections heading into the postseason. He now owns the league records for career blocks, single-season blocks (111 in 2006-07) and single-game blocks (nine, vs. Cleveland State, 1/27/07).

    VanderMeer, who is also averaging 10.6 ppg, is the first three-time league All-Defensive Team selection in school history.

    The Flames take on Youngstown State in the opening round of the 2008-09 Speedway Horizon League Men's Basketball Championship this Tuesday, March 3 in Youngstown, Ohio at 6:00 p.m. Central. The game will air live on the radio in Chicago on 560 AM WIND.


    All-League First Team
    Matt Howard (So., F), Butler
    J'Nathan Bullock (Sr., F), Cleveland State
    Ryan Tillema (Sr., G), Green Bay
    Gordon Hayward (Fr., F), Butler
    Josh Mayo (Sr., G), UIC



    All-League Second Team
    Cedric Jackson (Sr., G), Cleveland State
    Todd Brown (Jr., G), Wright State
    Rahmon Fletcher (So., G), Green Bay
    Tone Boyle (Jr., G), Milwaukee
    Urule Igbavboa (Sr., F), Valparaiso

    All-Newcomer Team
    Gordon Hayward (Fr., F), Butler
    Shelvin Mack (Fr., G), Butler
    Tone Boyle (Jr., G), Milwaukee
    James Eayrs (Jr., F), Milwaukee
    DeAndre Mays (Jr., G), Youngstown State

    Senior center Scott VanderMeer is the first three-time Horizon League All-Defensive Team pick in UIC history.

    All-Defensive Team
    Scott VanderMeer (Sr., C), UIC
    Cedric Jackson (Sr., G), Cleveland State
    Terry Evans (Sr., F), Green Bay
    Matt Howard (So., F), Butler
    Will Graham (Sr., G), Wright State

    Player of the Year: Matt Howard, Butler
    Newcomer of the Year: Gordon Hayward, Butler
    Defensive Player of the Year: Cedric Jackson, Cleveland State
    Sixth Man of the Year: Ryan Tillema, Green Bay
    Coach of the Year: Brad Stevens, Butler

    NOTE: All-League and All-Newcomer awards are voted upon by Horizon League head coaches and sports information directors plus selected media. The All-Defensive awards and Sixth Man of the Year are selected by head coaches only.