Rotating image

UIC Flames
Official Store

    Men's Basketball Standouts Cedrick Banks And Martell Bailey Earn All-League Recognition

    Sophomore Cedrick Banks earned All-Horizon League Second Team and Horizon League All-Newcomer Team honors on Wednesday.
    Sophomore Cedrick Banks earned All-Horizon League Second Team and Horizon League All-Newcomer Team honors on Wednesday.
    Men's Basketball Home

    Men's Basketball: Getting to Know the Newcomers - Tai Odiase

    Horizon League Men's Basketball Schedule Announced

    Former Basketball Star Scott VanderMeer Continues Pro Career in Uruguay


    UIC Pavilion

    UIC Flames Facebook

    Howard Moore Twitter


    Top 25 Rankings



    Feb. 27, 2002

    Chicago, Ill. - The UIC men's basketball team's prized rookie duo of Cedrick Banks and Martell Bailey were both honored on Wednesday morning as the Horizon League announced its all-league teams.

    Banks earned a spot on the All-Horizon League Second Team and the Horizon League All-Newcomer Team. Bailey, meanwhile, joined Banks by garnering all-newcomer team honors.

    The team leader in scoring (13.6 ppg), Banks ranks third on the squad in rebounding (4.4 rpg) and assists (2.0 apg). He broke double figures in scoring in 20 of UIC's 30 contests and went over the 20-point plateau on seven occasions. Banks also tabbed a team-best three double-doubles, including a 32-point, 10-rebound effort versus Loyola on Jan. 17.

    Bailey enjoyed a standout newcomer season at the point guard position, averaging a team-best 4.8 assists per game. He ranked second in the Horizon League in the category and his 145 helpers was the 10th-best single-season effort in UIC history. The 5-foot-10 point guard could also find his own shot, averaging 6.5 points per game while adding 3.0 rebounds per contest.

    Regular-season champion Butler dominated the All-Horizon League First Team as Rylan Hainje, who won player of the year honors, and Thomas Jackson both were named to the squad. Clay Tucker (UW-Milwaukee), David Bailey (Loyola) and Greg Grays (Detroit) rounded out the first-team recipients.

    The Doliboa brothers, Seth and Cain, of Wright State were both named to the All-Horizon League Second Team, along with Ronnie Jones (UW-Milwaukee), Theo Dixon (Cleveland State) and Banks.

    The Horizon League All-Newcomer Team featured Seth and Cain Doliboa, Banks, Bailey and UW-Milwaukee freshman Adrian Tigert. Senior transfer Cain Doliboa was named newcomer of the year.

    Three Butler Bulldogs - Jackson, Hainje, Joel Cornette - made up the league's all-defensive team. Darius Belin (Detroit) and Tucker joined the Butler trio.

    UW-Milwaukee's Bruce Pearl earned coach of the year honors.

    The league's best will now put their honors to the test as they battle this weekend in the 2002 Horizon League Men's Basketball Tournament in Cleveland, Ohio. Sixth-seeded UIC kicks things off on Saturday, March 2, at 7:30 p.m. EST, with #3 UW-Milwaukee.


    2002 Player of the Year

    Rylan Hainje (Butler)

    2002 Coach of the Year

    Bruce Pearl (UW-Milwaukee)

    2002 Newcomer of the Year

    Cain Doliboa (Wright State)

    2002 All-Horizon League First Team

    Thomas Jackson (Butler)

    Clay Tucker (UW-Milwaukee)

    David Bailey (Loyola)

    Rylan Hainje (Butler)

    Greg Grays (Detroit)

    2002 All-Horizon League Second Team

    Cain Doliboa (Wright State)

    Seth Doliboa (Wright State)

    Ronnie Jones (UW-Milwaukee)

    Cedrick Banks (UIC)

    Theo Dixon (Cleveland State)

    Horizon League All-Newcomer Team

    Seth Doliboa (Wright State)

    Cain Doliboa (Wright State)

    Martell Bailey (UIC)

    Cedrick Banks (UIC)

    Adrian Tigert (UW-Milwaukee)

    Horizon League All-Defensive Team

    Darius Belin (Detroit)

    Thomas Jackson (Butler)

    Clay Tucker (UW-Milwaukee)

    Rylan Hainje (Butler)

    Joel Cornette (Butler)