Five UIC Baseball Alums Win NABF World Series

Clout Manager Kevin Renken with World Series MVP Armand Candea (right).
Clout Manager Kevin Renken with World Series MVP Armand Candea (right).

Aug. 28, 2012

Five former UIC baseball alums were recently crowned 2012 World Series Champions of the National Amateur Baseball Federation (NABF) Major Division as part of the Chicago Clout.  Armand Candea (1999), Al Candea (1999), Kevin Renken (1983), Marc Camardo (1983) and Jim Noble (1983) are all members of the Clout squad who won the title with a decisive 8-2 victory over the St. John’s-Lefty’s Saints in Buffalo, N.Y. on Aug. 19.

The Clout rolled through the Ft. Wayne, Indiana NABF Double-Elimination Regional Tournament the previous weekend with a perfect 4-0 record to advance to the World Series.

Armand Candea earned special recognition by being named World Series MVP as he hit 13-for-21 (.619) during the event.  Candea was also honored as league’s batting champion.

The Clout, which plays their home games at Pacetti Field in Oak Lawn, Ill., finished the season on a 30-3 run and a best-ever team record of 34-9-1.  They are the founding members of the Skyscraper Baseball League and were the first Chicagoland baseball squad to win the NABF Major Division World Series in 2001.  Founded in 1914, the National Amateur Baseball Federation is the oldest National Baseball Federation in the United States.