UIC Baseball Touts Conference-High 11 All-Horizon League Recipients

First-Team All-League honoree Jacob McNamara
First-Team All-League honoree Jacob McNamara

May 20, 2014

INDIANAPOLIS – The UIC baseball team picked up 12 postseason honors from a league-high 11 separate players, as the conference office announced All-League teams and specialty award winners on Tuesday afternoon.  Five UIC players landed on the first team, a list that includes seniors Alex Jurich (C), Jacob McNamara (DH) and John Coen (UTL) and juniors Jeff Boehm (1B) and Tyler Detmer (OF).

Three Flames’ players were selected for the second team, including redshirt junior Alex Lee (2B), redshirt sophomore Conor Philbin (OF) and freshman Mickey McDonald (3B).  McDonald was also voted to the All-Freshman squad along with Cody Bohanek (SS), Brett Krause (INF) and Mitchell Schulewitz (RHP).

The eleven UIC individuals recognized are the most of any Horizon League program as Wright State came in second with 13 accolades on 10 individuals.  The Flames also tout conference-highs for five first-team members and a combined eight total honorees for first and second team.

Jurich finished the regular season ranked top-5 in the Horizon League in several categories, including batting average (.352), slugging percentage (.503), on-base percentage (.433), runs scored (40), hits (63), RBI (46), total bases (90) and home runs (5).  His RBI per game total of 0.96 ranks 46th in the country and his 46 RBI serves as UIC’s highest total since 2010.  Jurich’s 19 multi-hit games and 10 multi-RBI outings serve as team-highs this season.

McNamara paced UIC in batting average for the majority of the 2014 campaign, ending the regular season with a .357 clip, third-highest in the HL.  Perhaps even more impressive was McNamara’s league-leading on-base percentage of .472, which ranks 29th in the nation and is the sixth highest figure for UIC in the last decade.  The Bloomingdale, Ill., native also ranks as 31st toughest player in the NCAA to strike out, having done so a mere 10 times in 157 at-bats this season.  McNamara was recently named to the watch list for 2014 Greg Olson Award, which is presented annually to college baseball’s “Breakout Player of the Year.”

Coen represents UIC on the first team as a utility player.  His season batting average of .325 ranks eighth in the league and fourth on the team.  His most memorable performance this year happened on May 3 at home in a 15-7 win versus Milwaukee as Coen went yard on consecutive at-bats for his second and third career homers.  The Mount Prospect, Ill., native hit 4-for-4 from the plate and posted a career-high five RBI with three runs scored in the contest.

Boehm served as UIC’s cleanup hitter for a majority of the season and recorded a league-high seven home runs (7) with a slugging percentage of (.552) that ranked second in the conference.  The Kentucky transfer posted a team-high 15 doubles in just 39 games played, giving him the 20th-best per game rate in the nation (0.38). 

Detmer earns his second All-League laurel after being named to the second team during the 2013 campaign.  He finished the regular season ranked top-6 in the Horizon League in numerous categories, including batting average (.335), slugging percentage (.487), on-base percentage (.441), runs scored (38), hits (60), RBI (39) and home runs (5). 

Lee, Philbin and McDonald represent the Flames on the All-Horizon League Second Team.  Lee recorded a .316 batting average with 54 hits and 23 RBI.  Philbin ranked third on the team in RBI with 30 and led the UIC with 28 walks. McDonald is one of just three freshmen in the conference to earn an All-League selection as he hit .312 during his first collegiate season.

McDonald also highlights the group of four newcomers that were chosen for the All-Freshman Team, tops among conference schools.  Relief pitcher Schulewitz serves as UIC’s lone hurler to garner an All-League award as he paced the HL in appearances this year with 31 and ranked second in strikeouts (59).  Bohanek and Krause collected All-Freshman honors as they both saw significant playing time at shortstop and third base, respectively.

The Flames hold the No. 2 seed in the 2014 Horizon League Tournament and begin play on Thursday at 3 p.m. CT.  UIC awaits the highest remaining seed from Wednesday's competition of No. 3 Valparaiso against No. 6 Youngstown State and No. 4 Milwaukee versus No. 5 Oakland.  All games will be played in Mequon, Wis., at Kapco Park with free live streams available on

2014 Horizon League Baseball All-League Teams and Award Winners
First Team

P – Dalton Lundeen, Valparaiso (So)
P – Joey Hoelzel, Wright State (Sr.)
C – Alex Jurich, UIC (Sr.)
1B – Jeff Boehm, UIC (Jr.)

2B – Michael Timm, Wright State (Jr.)
SS – Mike Brosseau, Oakland (So.)
3B – Michael Morman, Valparaiso (Sr.)
OF – Ryan Solberg, Milwaukee (Sr.)
OF – Robby Enslen, Oakland (Jr.)
OF – Tyler Detmer, UIC (Jr.)
OF – Jeff Limbaugh, Wright State (Sr.)
DH – Jacob McNamara, UIC (Sr.)
UTL – John Coen, UIC (Sr.)

Second Team

P – Tim Koons, Oakland (Sr.)
P – Robby Sexton, Wright State (So.)
C – Sean Murphy, Wright State (Fr.)
1B – Pat Wilson, Milwaukee (Sr.)
2B – Alex Lee, UIC (Jr.)
SS – Ryan McShane, Milwaukee (Jr.)
3B – Mickey McDonald, UIC (Fr.)
3B – Jack Murphy, Wright State (Sr.)
OF – Alex Larivee, Youngstown State (Fr.)
OF – Chris Manning, Valparaiso (Sr.)
OF – Connor Philbin, UIC (So.)
DH – Jason DeFevers, Wright State (So.)
UTL – Tyler Hermann, Milwaukee (Jr.)

All-Freshman Team (Not Position Specific)
P – Mitchell Schulewitz, UIC
P – Mario Losi, Valparaiso
P – Ellis Foreman, Valparaiso
P – Kevin Yarabinec, Youngstown State
C – Sean Murphy, Wright State
1B – Zach Sterry, Oakland
SS – Cody Bohanek, UIC
3B – Brett Krause, UIC
3B – Mickey McDonald, UIC

OF – Alex Larivee, Youngstown State
OF – Brad Macciocchi, Wright State

Player of the Year: Ryan Solberg, Milwaukee (Sr., OF)
Co-Pitchers of the Year: Joey Hoelzel, Wright State (Sr.) & Dalton Lundeen, Valparaiso (So.)
Relief Pitcher of the Year: Andrew Elliott, Wright State (Jr.)
Freshman of the Year: Sean Murphy, Wright State (C)
Coach of the Year: Greg Lovelady, Wright State