Baseball Places Four On QTI Baylor Classic All-Tournament Team

Derrick Miramontes
Derrick Miramontes

March 2, 2008

Waco, Texas- Four UIC players were named to the QTI Baylor Classic All-Tournament Team after the final game ended on Sunday afternoon.

Starting pitcher Derrick Miramontes, catcher Kevin Coddington, outfielder Steve McGuiggan and infielder Tony Altavilla were chosen to the event's all-tournament squad.

Miramontes gave up just one hit in 5.2 innings of work in a no-decision against 13th-ranked Baylor on Saturday.

Coddington went 5-for-12 at the plate in three starts as one-half of the Flames' battery. The junior catcher hit three doubles and drove in a pair of runs.

McGuiggan hit .500 (5-for-10) during the weekend, with a double, a homer and three RBI to his credit en route to a unanimous selection to the all-tournament team.

Altavilla also batted .500 with a 4-for-8 performance over the course of the three-day classic, driving in two runs and hitting two doubles.

UIC went 2-1 during the QTI Baylor Classic, with its only loss being a one-run defeat to the nationally-ranked Bears on Baylor's home field.

The Flames scored 20 runs during the Classic, highlighted by a 9-3 win over Stephen F. Austin and a 7-4 win over Illinois.

THIRD ANNUAL QTI BAYLOR CLASSIC (Baylor Ballpark - Waco, Texas)

Baylor: 3-0
UIC: 2-1
Stephen F. Austin: 1-2
Illinois: 0-3

SP - Derrick Miramontes (UIC)
SP - Kendal Volz (Baylor)
RP - Erik Forestiere (Baylor)
C - Kevin Coddington (UIC)
1B - Dustin Dickerson (Baylor)
2B - Landis Ware * (Baylor)
3B - Shaver Hansen (Baylor)
SS - (tie) Brandon Wikoff (Illinois) & Beamer Weems (Baylor)
OF - Aaron Miller * (Baylor)
OF - Steve McGuiggan * (UIC)
OF - (tie) Ben Booker (Baylor) & Kyle Hudson (Ilinois)
DH - Matt Whatley (SFA)
UTL - Tony Altavilla (UIC)



MVP: Aaron Miller, Baylor

* denotes unanimous selection