Baseball Kicks Off 2012 Season With First Official Practice

UIC head baseball coach Mike Dee
UIC head baseball coach Mike Dee

Jan. 27, 2012

CHICAGO – UIC’s baseball season began today as the Flames held their first official practice of the 2012 campaign. sat down with head coach Mike Dee to preview this year’s team.

The Flames return 19 letterwinners from a team that captured a share of the 2011 Horizon League regular season title, the program’s 10th in 12 years.

Returning position players include juniors Nick Addison, Joe Betcher, Alex De LaRosa, Harry Kammholz and Ryan Shober, sophomores Ryan Boss, Joe Coen, Alex Jurich, Jacob McNamara, Josh Nevers, Jon Ryan and redshirt freshman Zenon Kolakowski.

Returning pitchers include seniors Matt Heaslip, Chris Hoffman and Matt Salemi, juniors Joey Begel, Tim Suminski and Charlie Weinberg and sophomores Mike Schoolcraft and Collin Weyer.

New additions to the Flames program includes juniors Dom D’Agata, Alex Grunenwald, Mike McKinely, Andres Ortegano, sophomore Alex Lee and freshmen Tyler Detmer, Cody Dykema, Brian Evak, Ryan Hinchley, Tomas Michelson, Conor Philbin, Bobby Sheppard, Carl Sugihara and Tim Tarter.

The Flames begin regular season play at No. 6 Texas A&M, a 2011 College World Series Participant, on Feb. 17 for a three-game stint.